Jenny Leong MP recognises winners of the ACON Honour Awards

Each year the ACON Honour Awards are an important opportunity to recognise the inedible work being done for and by the LGBTIQ+ community in NSW.


Ms JENNY LEONG (Newtown) (16:12):Each year the ACON Honour Awards recognise outstanding achievements within, or excellent service to, the LGBTIQ community in New South Wales. It was my great pleasure to attend the presentation again this year, and to present the Young Achiever Award to Bayvick Lawrence, an inspirational role model and spokesperson for LGBTIQ Pacific Islander youth. Congratulations to Mark Trevorrow, who won the Arts and Entertainment Award; Sydney-based artist Kim Leutwyler, who took home the Cayte Latta Memorial Award for Visual Arts; Dr Allison Bielawski, who won the Health and Wellbeing award; and David Crawford, who was crowned HIV Hero for 30 years of service and care to people living with HIV.

Congratulations also to the joint winners of the Community Organisation award—the amazing Equality Campaign and the impressive Human Rights Law Centre; Community Hero recipient Robyn Kennedy and President's Award winners Camp Inc. Special congratulations go to Newtown's own Dr Shirleene Robinson, who won the Media Award for her extensive body of work in the media that has drawn attention to LGBTIQ issues. You are all an inspiration.

Sign up for updates