Community Recognition: Australia Day Awards

Congratulations to the Australia Day Award recipients from the Newtown electorate. 


Ms JENNY LEONG (Newtown) [5.03 p.m.]: I draw the attention of this Parliament to the individuals doing great work in the Newtown electorate who were recognised on 26 January this year. I congratulate Sydney Story Factory executive director and co-founder Catherine Keenan, who received the 2016 Australian Local Hero Award. Catherine, staff and volunteers at the Sydney Story Factory in Redfern work to ensure that all young people, no matter their background, are given opportunities to express themselves through writing and storytelling. I particularly commend their efforts to prioritise the engagement of marginalised young people. I loved sitting in on a session at the Sydney Story Factory last year. I also congratulate the Marrickville Council 2016 Citizens of the Year. The Young Citizen of the Year was Xanthe Sini, who volunteers at Newtown's Asylum Seeker Centre. The Senior Citizen of the Year was Jim Skuthorpe, who was recognised for his many years with NSW Police Force Volunteers, and the Citizen of the Year was Tamra Palmer. I congratulate them all.


Link to Hansard

Sign up for updates