Jenny Leong MP congratulates winners of the Resilient Australia Awards

Jenny Leong MP, Member for Newtown has congratulated the two impressive organisations from the Newtown electorate who took home Resilient Australia Awards this year.


Ms JENNY LEONG (Newtown) (16:22): I draw the attention of the House to two organisations in the Newtown electorate whose impressive work was recognised this week through the Resilient Australia Awards, which recognise initiatives that strengthen community disaster resilience. Inner Sydney Voice won the Community Award for its efforts over two years to increase the level of disaster resilience within social housing communities in Sydney and across the State. Together with social housing tenants, the project developed emergency plans for 42 high-rise buildings and improved communications and awareness through local initiatives. I congratulate Thomas Chailloux who led the project, as well as chief executive officer Charmaine Jones and the whole team at Inner Sydney Voice for its incredibly important work. The Centre for Disability Research and Policy at the University of Sydney won the business award for its amazing work in creating the Person-Centred Emergency Preparedness tool and framework. I congratulate the project team Michelle Villeneuve and Professor Gwynnyth Llewellyn on their vital contributions.

Sign up for updates