Community Recognition: ACON Community Honour Awards

Today we acknowledged the Community Honour Awards established by the AIDS Council of New South Wales. 


Ms JENNY LEONG (Newtown) [5.48 p.m.]: I draw the attention of the House to the Community Honour Awards established by the AIDS Council of New South Wales [ACON], which acknowledge outstanding service to or achievement within the New South Wales lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex community [LGBTI]. The awards night is a major fundraising event for ACON and for LGBTI charity, Aurora. I congratulate this year's winners: Steph Sands, Levinia Crooks, Richard Ezomoh, Rick Feneley, Deborah Kelly, Anthony Venn-Brown, Beccy Cole, and the cast and crew of Holding The Man. I was thrilled to present the Community Organisation Award to Dykes on Bikes Sydney. I make special mention of Dowson Turco Lawyers, an out and proud law firm located on South King Street, Newtown. The firm is widely known for its advocacy for the LGBTI community and it received the Business Award. I also congratulate ACON and the event organisers on a great night and look forward to celebrating the tenth anniversary of the awards in 2016.


Link to Hansard

Sign up for updates